0

The Emperor’s Handbook: A New Translation of The Meditations



  • THE MEDITATIONS OF MARCUS AURELIUS – FULL AudioBook
  • STOICISM – MEDITATIONS BY MARCUS AURELIUS ANIMATED BOOK REVIEW
  • 7 Lessons from "The Emperor’s Handbook" by Marcus Aurelius
  • THE MEDITATIONS OF MARCUS AURELIUS – FULL AudioBook | Τὰ εἰς ἑαυτόν
  • Meditations by Marcus Aurelius – High Quality – Complete Audiobook
  • The Emperor’s Handbook A New Translation of The Meditations
  • The Emperor’s Handbook A New Translation of The Meditations
  • The Emperor’s Handbook A New Translation of The Meditations by Marcus Aurelius and David Hicks
  • The Meditations of Marcus Aurelius Emperor of Rome
  • Meditations of Marcus Aurelius (Book 12)
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $22.00 $21.81 You save: $0.19 (1%). (as of December 8, 2018 3:51 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations—a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history—available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides.

Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as “the most beautiful figure in history.” Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest.

The historian Michael Grant praises Marcus’s book as “the best ever written by a major ruler,” and Josiah Bunting, superintendent of the Virginia Military Institute, calls it “the essential book on character, leadership, duty.” Never intended for publication, the Meditations contains the practical and inspiring wisdom by which this remarkable emperor lived the life not of a saintly recluse, but of a general, administrator, legislator, spouse, parent, and judge besieged on all sides.

The Emperor’s Handbook offers a vivid and fresh translation of this important piece of ancient literature. It brings Marcus’s words to life and shows his wisdom to be as relevant today as it was in the second century. This book belongs on the desk and in the briefcase of every business executive, political leader, and military officer. It speaks to the soul of anyone who has ever exercised authority or faced adversity or believed in a better day.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Scribner (November 26, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0743233832
  • ISBN-13: 978-0743233835
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.7 x 8.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces

Customer Reviews

A word of caution

 on July 23, 2016
By Nom de Bloom
Amazon lumps different translations together as merely variations on how the book is delivered. In this case, the Hays translation is the hardcover, while the authors who translated the paperback and Kindle versions aren’t specified. So use the tools available (look inside, free sample) to get an idea of the language used by the author and see if it’s something you’d like to read, or if a different translation suits you better.

It’s worth trying different translations

 on September 25, 2013
By davidhmorgan
I don’t know who did the translation for this one but I found it very difficult to follow. This prompted me to look around and I found another translation by George Long (Thoughts of Marcus Aurelius Antoninus 1862). Even though it’s not a recent translation, Long’s version is often easier to understand. Compare the translations of the first paragraph for example:

and Socrates is my great uncle and Thales is my grand father

 on March 7, 2017
By The M4chin3
I am sincerely pissed that I was not provided a copy of this as a kid growing up. I have devised a work around to the whole “Not growing up with a father figure” issue. I have decided that Marcus Aurealis is my actual father, and Socrates is my great uncle and Thales is my grand father. I realize this sounds nutty to read but I honestly feel more in common with these thinkers then the absent XY chromosome donor.

Excellent Edition of the Greatest Text Ever Written

 on July 9, 2016
By Chauncey
First, do we all recognize that the author of this text, Marcus Aurelius, was a Roman Emperor? If so, why have I not been forced to read this from a young age? This is quite possibly the most insightful, existential book I’ve ever read. Emperor Aurelius has given us wisdom in its purest form. This should be a manual for every human’s life. Every sentence is mind-numbingly profound. This book is so good, that I might just have the entire text tattooed on my body. I cannot stress enough that the sagacity of this book is beyond what I have ever read. Definitely a must-read and a must-live-by.

This is one of the best books I’ve ever read about anything

 on May 27, 2016
By Stoic in Training
You could go your whole life reading the Meditations and Seneca’s letters and still not understand Stoicism the way Hadot can teach you in 300 pages. This is one of the best books I’ve ever read about anything; it is a true masterpiece and a shame that so few people will ever read it. Do yourself a favor and dive in.

This is a book everybody ought to read. And reread. But there are problems…..

 on October 9, 2015
By chucksville
There are a lot of translations of the Meditations out there and most of them are very difficult to read. This is because the translators are doing their best to provide the reader with a translation that is faithful to the original language, which was, I believe, Ancient Greek (which seems kind of odd, considering he was a Roman).

He speaks to us all

 on March 2, 2017
By R S
This is a book you don’t read in 4-5 hours cover to cover and move on. It’s a philosophy. I reread passages, and am on chapter/book 3 right now. Learn and apply. Tame yourself and conquer the world. Excellent book, timeless. He speaks to us all.

One of the Greatest Stoic Philosophers

 on August 23, 2017
By Jose
A hard read, though it is only 93 pages (the Meditations themselves, excluding introduction and notes). Do not however, concern yourself with the stylistic choices of the translation, though at times it may be confusing or simply bland. You cannot blame the translator for translating the Meditations, and you cannot blame Marcus for writing his journal his way, without ever believing anyone else would read it, for that does not matter. I have no criticism, simply I point out this book is not a light read.

Might as well enjoy life

 on July 17, 2017
By tavodu
There are many self-help books, but this is more about (what SHOULD be) common sense and little things to remember throughout your days.

Printed new to fulfill my sale.

 on January 30, 2018
By Andrew Villain
This translation, by George Long in 1862, although older, is easier to read and comprehend than many newer translations. This includes, in my opinion, the Dover Thrift Edition that is an updated version of this Long translation. It’s a great price to have as your first, primary or supplemental addition of this amazing work.
netbestinfomeditation-20
US
AKIAICZUNMKAJV32PYUA
%d bloggers like this: